Saturday, November 2, 2013

Lucky Number 7

Author: Simone Jackson

The subject of seven has been said to be lucky over the years, it is often called “lucky number seven”. Most of the things in our world come in the number seven. For example the days of the week or the colors of the rainbow. When reading some of the articles on websites for example gives says that the number seven forms the symbol called “the seed of life”. The seed of life represent the six days of creation with the center circle representing the day of rest. The number seven is also a lucky number for Pisces and Cancer horoscopes. The number seven can be referred to in some cultures for example the Hindu culture. At wedding the bride and groom are to walk around a fire seven times taking seven steps and they are to say a vow at every seven steps. In the Chinese culture they believe in seven gods. They believe that the seven gods arrive on a ship called “the treasure ship” every New Years to give gifts to all the worthy people. However though the number seven may be lucky with some cultures in the American culture saying the number seven in a game of craps is believed to be unlucky. Players I the game of craps refer to the number seven as “it” or “the devil”.  As well as breaking a mirror is believed to bring you seven years of bad luck. There are seven cosmic principles: The Principle of Correspondence, The Principle of Law and Order, The Principle of Vibration, The Principle of Rhythm,  The Principle of Cycles,  The Principle of Polarity, and The Principle of Sex . A geological perspective for the number seven would be that there are seven seas: The South Ocean, North Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, Artic Ocean, Southern ocean and The Indian Ocean. In the Christianity the number seven is famous for the seven deadly sins. The seven deadly sins are believed to be the downfall of men. The seven deadly sins include: Pride, Sloth, Greed, Lust, Envy, Anger, and Anger.   Another interesting fact about number seven would be that there are seven ancient wonders in the world.  The seven ancient wonders of the world include: The Pyramids of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Statue of Zeus, Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes, and The lighthouse of Alexandria. 

Image from DC Basketcases

No comments:

Post a Comment